Predicting The Future of MYClassroom

At the time of this writing, there are probably only 1 or 2 people reading this. The MYClassroom site has only been up for about 5 days and is still mostly just an idea in my head.

Over the next few weeks, I plan on getting the site set up and getting the kinks worked out. I will begin posting content regularly, every Monday and Thursday as well.

This project is an experiment. I will be writing mostly about strategies and tools for classroom management. There sure are plenty of other sites out there that cover these topics, but I have a lot of unique things I want to say on the subject. Hopefully, this will allow the MYClassroom site to flourish in a crowded blogosphere. (Yes. I just used the word “blogosphere.” Yes, I do realize that if I actually had any readers I would have just lost them all by using that word.)

I am not a seasoned veteran of teaching, but I do have some experience in classroom management:

  • I have attended school, in some form or another, for over two decades.
  • My first brush with teaching came while working at a summer camp in the northern Adirondack Mountains in New York. I started teaching there when I was 17 years old and stayed until I was 23. I taught a few different subjects from crafts to model rocketry to archery and air gun marksmanship. This is when I first realized I wanted to be a teacher. It’s also when I realized that classroom management is very important, especially if all your students have guns or rockets.
  • I received a M.S. in Education with a 4.0 GPA from a relatively prestigious school. This is where I got my first taste of “real” classroom teaching. I knew immediately that I had made the right decision and that teaching was a field that I would enjoy working in.
  • After graduating, I moved back home to the Adirondacks and substitute taught for a few months, mostly in poverty schools. Although I was not there for a long time, I feel like I learned a lot about classroom management here. It gave me experience all over the spectrum from kindergarten to high school and special education rooms to AP classes.
  • In February 2012, I moved to South Korea to teach English in a public middle school. It was mostly out of necessity that I really honed my classroom management skills very quickly here. When you have a classroom full of 40 middle school boys screaming in a language you don’t understand, classroom management skills are a must.

Of course, I am still learning and improving my classroom management. This site will be a chronicle of what I learn as I continue my career as a teacher. But, I also believe I have something unique to say that will be of value to many teachers old and new.

With all this in mind, here are the goals I would like to achieve over the next year:

  1. At least 100 posts of around 500 words or longer. That’s 50,000 words. 137 words a day. 5.7 words per hour. I will be posting to the site primarily every Monday and Thursday, but will also be posting the occasional Teacher Profile on a separate day.
  2. In addition to the 100 regular postings on the site, I want to complete 20 Teacher Profiles. These profiles will look at other teachers who are successfully managing their own classrooms.
  3. At least 500 regular and loyal readers who follow MYClassroom posts through –email updates, RSS, or just be coming around to the site.

Eventually, I will release an e-book on classroom management. That will be at least a year and a half away, however, due to current contractual obligations.

For now, though, I will be focusing on producing great content and, hopefully, the rest will follow. I hope you will enjoy following along!

Comments Off on Predicting The Future of MYClassroom

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.